Please confirm topic selection

Are you sure you want to trigger topic in your Anconeus AI algorithm?

Please confirm action

You are done for today with this topic.

Would you like to start learning session with this topic items scheduled for future?

Updated: Apr 13 2017


  • Overview
      • the type of hemolysis present can be used to classify the bacteria
    • Alpha hemolysis
      • dark and greenish
      • "partial" hemolysis
      • bacteria include
        • Streptococcus pneumoniae
          • Optochin sensitive
        • Viridans group streptococci
          • Optochin resistant
    • Beta hemolysis
      • transparent
      • "complete" hemolysis
      • bacteria include
        • Staphylococcus aureus
        • Streptococcus pyogenes (group A strep)
        • Streptococcus agalactiae (group B strep)
        • Listeria monocytogenes
    • Gamma hemolysis
      • unchanged
      • "no hemolysis"
      • bacteria include
        • Enterococcus faecalis (group D strep)
          • can also be alpha hemolytic
    • Notice that hemolysis is generally used to distinguish strains of Streptococcus, but that Staphylococcus aureus and Listeria also have characteristic hemolytic properties
1 of 0
1 of 1
Private Note

Attach Treatment Poll
Treatment poll is required to gain more useful feedback from members.
Please enter Question Text
Please enter at least 2 unique options
Please enter at least 2 unique options
Please enter at least 2 unique options